Gartner 2020 SOAP Guide
SMA Technologies nommé comme fournisseur représentatif
Voir le rapport complet

Si ma ques­tion n’apparaît pas dans cette liste ?

Envoyez-nous un message et nous serons ravis de répondre à vos questions supplémentaires

[Nous contacter]

Ques­tions-répons­es sur l’au­toma­ti­sa­tion des proces­sus IT

Qu’est-ce que Opcon ?

OpCon est une plateforme d’automatisation des processus IT, low-code, évolutive et fiable. Elle est conçue pour simplifier la gestion de vos systèmes IT. Avec son API REST et sa vaste bibliothèque d'intégrations du legacys au Cloud, OpCon devient le point de contrôle central pour l’orchestration des processus IT multi-environnements, multi-OS, « on-premise » et en cloud hybride.

Qu’est-ce que l’automatisation des processus IT ?

L’automatisation des processus IT ou WLA (Workload automation) est une solution de programmation, d’amorçage et d’exécution de processus IT spécifiques et de transactions, y compris des workflows et des fonctionnalités correspondantes. Ce sont généralement les équipes en charge des opérations et de l’infrastructure IT qui en sont responsables, car elle permet d’automatiser les processus critiques vecteurs d'agilité et de résilience des entreprises modernes.

Lire l’article de blog à ce sujet : What is Workload Automation?

Qu’est-ce que l’automatisation des mainframes ?

On désigne par automatisation des mainframes, l’ensemble des tâches de traitement mobilisées dans un programme, exécutées à des moments prédéfinis selon ce que l'on appelle la programmation par lots. Les plateformes d’automatisation des processus, comme OpCon, remplacent les interventions manuelles nécessaires jusque-là pour opérer une programmation par lots, de sorte que les entreprises peuvent continuer de valoriser leurs mainframes rendus plus disponibles.

De nombreux contrats mainframe avec IBM sont limités à un certain nombre de processus autorisés par jour et les dépassements peuvent s’avérer coûteux. Avec OpCon, les entreprises peuvent rationaliser le nombre des jobs nécessaires pour tenir leurs objectifs et obtenir un meilleur ROI de leurs mainframes.

Que signifie la transformation digitale ?

La transformation digitale consiste à utiliser des technologies nouvelles et existantes pour modifier ou remplacer les processus en place et gagner ainsi en efficacité et en agilité au regard des nouvelles demandes du marché.

La vision de la transformation digitale de SMA Technologies consiste à fournir aux entreprises une plateforme d’automatisation des processus IT pour automatiser autant de processus que possible et permettre ainsi aux salariés de consacrer davantage de temps à des tâches stratégiques à plus forte valeur ajoutée.

Comment automatiser les processus IT.

Pour automatiser des processus, vous devez d’abord décomposer le processus en étapes correspondant à des scripts. Identifiez ce qui doit se produire d’abord, puis faites la liste des étapes suivantes. Créez ensuite des scripts pour chaque étape. Une bonne plateforme d’automatisation des processus doit accepter les langages de script les plus courants, comme PowerShell.

Déterminez ensuite si ces étapes sont déclenchées par un événement ou si elles doivent se produire à un moment donné. Dans le premier cas, définissez les conditions à remplir pour déclencher le workflow. Dans le second cas, comme pour l’envoi de rapports d’inventaire quotidiens, configurez les options d’ordonnancement du workflow dans votre plateforme d’automatisation des processus.

Sachez ce que vous attendez exactement quand votre worfklow d’automatisation du processus aboutit. Par exemple, ce processus est-il en interdépendance avec d’autres processus que vous souhaitez automatiser ? La meilleure pratique consiste à regrouper des processus automatisés dépendants dans le même workflow, pour en faciliter l’administration par l’équipe opérations IT. L’interface utilisateur de la plateforme permet de configurer des alertes et des notifications d’envoi d’e-mail aux bons destinataires à l’issue de l’exécution du workflow.

Plus d’information dans l’article de blog : Low-hanging fruit – automate common business processes to reduce costs.

En quoi l’automatisation aide-t-elle à réduire les erreurs ?

L’automatisation aide à réduire les erreurs par l’exécution identique de processus répétitifs. A l’inverse, les interventions manuelles peuvent oublier des étapes d’un processus ou induire une erreur en rentrant de mauvaises informations.

Les entreprises qui automatisent des processus IT ou métiers répétitifs s’assurent d’observer systématiquement les meilleures pratiques et donc de rester en conformité et de tenir leurs SLA.

En plus de réduire les erreurs, l’automatisation des processus veille à la continuité d’application des meilleures pratiques même quand les collaborateurs changent de poste dans l’entreprise. Lire l'article : Capturing institutional knowledge: turn human expertise into automated workflows.

Qu’est-ce qu’un repository de charges de travail automatisées ?

Un repository de charges de travail automatisées collecte et traite des statistiques de performance dans une base de données. Ces données servent à produire des rapports automatisés.

Comment automatiser la gestion de vos services.

Pour ce faire, vous devez d’abord définir les étapes des processus à automatiser. Vous décidez ensuite la part d’interventions manuelles ou d’approbations nécessaires d’un bout à l’autre du workflow.

Par exemple, il est possible d’automatiser la création d’un ticket dans ServiceNow au moyen d’une plateforme d’automatisation des processus IT avec des fonctionnalités en self-service. Il est possible d’ajouter d’autres étapes automatisées au workflow au besoin.

Exemple de workflow :

Etape 1) Un système détecte un problème avec un processus IT ou un service et génère un ticket dans ServiceNow.

Etape 2) L’opérateur valide le ticket et initie un workflow automatisé qui exécute le processus de résolution étape par étape. (Le système peut aussi être programmé pour déclencher automatiquement le processus de résolution sans aucune intervention manuelle.)

Etape 3) Le workflow se termine et informe l’opérateur du résultat.

Etape 4) Si le processus est effectivement résolu, le ticket est fermé automatiquement.

Lire l’article de blog : How to integrate workload automation into ServiceNow with a REST API.

Comment automatiser l’accueil de nouveaux salariés.

Vous pouvez automatiser l’accueil et le départ de salariés par l’ajout de fonctionnalités d’automatisation en self-service à vos offres IT. Ainsi, vous regroupez dans des worflows ces processus souvent laborieux, exécutés d’un simple clic.

Généralement, le service RH entre les données d’un salarié dans le système. Avec un workflow en self-service, l’agent RH peut automatiser l’enregistrement des données dans d’autres systèmes de son choix et envoyer une demande d’exécution des processus d’accueil au service IT. L’opérateur IT utilisera alors un workflow pour attribuer automatiquement au salarié les identifiants et les autorisations d’accès requis, en plus d’un PC portable.

Plus d’information à ce sujet ici : Eliminate errors by automating onboarding and offboarding.

Quelles sont les nouvelles technologies de maintien de la continuité de l’activité

Les principales technologies de maintien de la continuité de l’activité regroupent des outils de « workload mobility », de surveillance à distance et de résolution des processus IT, ainsi que des outils capables de regrouper les connaissances institutionnelles dans des workflows automatisés.

Le « workload mobility » consiste à déplacer des services et des applications dans le cloud. Ainsi, le personnel a toujours accès à l’ensemble des outils utiles même quand l’accès au site est rendu impossible pour cause de catastrophe naturelle ou de pandémie.

L’expérience de confinement vécue avec la COVID-19 a révélé l’importance que les équipes en charge des opérations IT puissent piloter leur environnement sans devoir être physiquement présent dans le datacenter ou au bureau. D’où la nécessité d’une plateforme d’automatisation capable d’automatiser, d’orchestrer et de surveiller les processus IT à l’échelle d’un réseau distribué sur plusieurs régions.

Les entreprises comprennent aujourd’hui l’intérêt de capturer les connaissances institutionnelles de leurs meilleures pratiques dans des workflows automatisés. Elles sont en demande de résilience et le meilleur moyen d’y parvenir est d’automatiser autant de processus critiques que possible.

Pour plus d’information, lire l’article de blog : Navigating the storm – Accelerate your business continuity plans with robust automation.

Gartner 2020 Automation Guide

What key features are must haves for modern automation platforms?

Read the full guide

What if I don’t see my ques­tion here?

Message us and we’ll be happy to answer additional questions you have that pertain to your specific IT environment and business challenges.

[Contact Us]

Work­load automa­tion ques­tions and answers

What is Opcon?

OpCon is a low-code, highly scalable and secure workload automation platform that simplifies the management of your IT systems. With a robust REST API and extensive library of modern and legacy system integrations, OpCon becomes the central point of control for orchestrating cross-environment and cross-OS IT processes in on-prem and hybrid cloud systems.

What is workload automation?

Workload automation (WLA) is a software-enabled method of scheduling, initiating, and executing specific business processes and transactions, including workflows and associated functionalities. It is typically part of the IT infrastructure and operations team’s responsibilities because it is used to automate the critical processes that enable modern enterprises to achieve agility and resiliency.

Read the full blog: What is Workload Automation?

What is mainframe automation?

Mainframe automation typically is a collection of processing tasks collected into a schedule, which are then run at preset times in what is known as batch scheduling. Workload automation platforms, such as OpCon, can replace the time-consuming manual inputs traditionally required to run batch scheduling, allowing modern businesses to continue extracting value from their mainframes by maximizing their uptime.

Many mainframe contracts with IBM are based on a capped number of processes per day allowed, and overages can be expensive. With OpCon, companies can streamline the number of jobs necessary to achieve their goals and get more ROI out of their mainframes.

What does digital transformation mean?

Digital transformation is the process of using new and existing technologies to modify or replace existing business processes in order to achieve better efficiency and agility to meet the changing requirements of the market.

SMA Technologies’ vision of digital transformation is to provide a workload automation tool for businesses to automate as many processes as possible and free their employees to focus on more strategic, high-value work.

How to automate business processes.

To automate business processes, you must first break down the process into scriptable steps. Identify what needs to happen first, and then list out the subsequent steps. Then you need to create scripts for each step. If you’ve chosen a good workload automation platform, it should accept a wide variety of common scripting languages, such as PowerShell.

Next, determine if those steps are event-driven, or if they need to happen at a specific time. If the process is event-driven, determine what conditions must be met to trigger the workflow. If the process needs to happen at a specific time, such as sending a daily inventory report to stakeholders, then configure the scheduling options for that workflow in your workload automation platform.

Consider what needs to happen when your new automated business process workflow finishes. For example, is this process tied into other business processes that you want to automate? Best practice is to group codependent automated processes into the same workflow, for ease of administration for your IT operations team. In your automation platform UI, you can configure alerts and notifications to email appropriate parties when the workflow is completed.

You can read more in our blog: Low-hanging fruit – automate common business processes to reduce costs.

How does automation help reduce errors?

Automation helps reduce errors by executing repetitive processes exactly the same every single time they’re needed. Humans get tired and can either forget steps in a process or create an error by inputting incorrect information.

By automating repetitive business and IT processes, organizations ensure that best practices are followed each time, ensuring that they stay in compliance and meet SLAs.

In addition to reducing errors, automating business processes also ensures best practices continue even as people move into different roles in your organization. Read more: Capturing institutional knowledge: turn human expertise into automated workflows.

What is automatic workload repository?

An automatic workload repository collects and processes performance statistics for a database. This data can be turned into automated reports.

How to automate your service management.

To automate IT service management, you first must define the steps in the processes you want to automate. Then you decide how much, if any, manual intervention or approval needs to happen throughout your workflow.

For example, creating a ticket in ServiceNow, the industry leader for IT service management, can be automated using a workload automation platform with self-service automation. Further automated steps can be added to this workflow if desired.

An example workflow:

Step 1) System detects issue with an IT process or service and generates a ticket in ServiceNow.

Step 2) Operator acknowledges the ticket and initiates an automated workflow that goes through the resolution process step by step. (The system can also be set up to automatically trigger the resolution process with no manual intervention.)

Step 3) The workflow finishes and notifies the operator of the result.

Step 4) If the process is resolved successfully, the ticket is automatically closed.

Check out our blog: How to integrate workload automation into ServiceNow with a REST API.

How to automate onboarding.

Automate onboarding and offboarding by adding self-service automation to your IT offerings. Many of the tedious processes involved with onboarding or offboarding can be installed in convenient workflows that are executed with the touch of a button.

In a typical set up, the HR department would input an employee’s data into their system. Using a self-service workflow, the HR rep can then auto-populate that data into other relevant systems and send a request to the IT department to initiate their onboarding processes. The IT tech will then use a workflow to automatically assign credentials and necessary access for the employee, as well as assign a laptop.

More information can be found here: Eliminate errors by automating onboarding and offboarding.

What are new technologies for business continuity?

The critical technologies for business continuity involve workload mobility, remote monitoring and resolution tools for IT processes, and capturing institutional knowledge into automated workflows.

Workload mobility is principally about moving services and applications to the cloud. The advantage gained is that personnel still have access to all the tools they need to fulfill their responsibilities even if access to the office is unavailable due to natural disaster or pandemic.

The COVID-19 lockdowns, and the potential for similar lockdowns with future pandemics, has highlighted the need for the IT operations team to be able to run their environment without needing to be at the data center or office in person. Having a workload automation platform that can automate, orchestrate, and monitor IT processes across a geographically dispersed network is no longer optional.

Organizations now understand the necessity of capturing the institutional knowledge of their best business practices into automate workflows. Businesses are looking for resiliency, and the best way to achieve it is to automate as many critical processes as possible.

For more information, please read our blog: Navigating the storm – Accelerate your business continuity plans with robust automation.